Here’s my story:

First of all let me back up, a blog I follow encouraged us to share our stories in relation to God. I’ve never been a churchgoing girl nor does my family go to church every Sunday. As a young girl, age 3 I started going to Granny’s. She was the one to teach me about God (I briefly remember my grandma and papa Barber taking me to church occasionally). As I got more acquainted with Granny, I began spending the night and attending church with her sometimes. Now I could get into the real nitty-gritty and tell you all about it but I’m just going to tell you about finding Him. This isn’t a transcendental experience nor did I ‘see the light.’
Flash forward to when I was 16 with a car and a license on July 25, 2008 I got into my car, drove to get some ice cream, and continued to my friends house. I woke up months later in a rehab hospital only to find out about my car accident, how I almost died, how people had prayed for my life and how everyone was still praying for me.
Eventually I found out that I pulled away from a stop sign and directly in front of a truck, the truck pushed me into a 3rd vehicle. (I was driving a Buick, the truck a Dodge Ram) I was taken to Genesis hospital, that hospital wasn’t equipped with a pediatric brain injury unit but I was too critical to be transferred to a larger hospital. Long story short, a bunch of tests were run, my parents were in the dark as to my specific condition and were told I was going to die.
When the morning came, I was still alive. I’m getting too specific again!
Now I’m almost 8 years out from my accident and still making significant progress. I’m able to withstand tons of therapy and am blessed to work with an awesome facility (Level 11) where everyone believes in me, even when I can’t believe in myself. A lot of different factors of my recovery have just fallen into place and greatly benefited me. I owe a lot of thanks to several people but I owe the most to  God.
I’m not affiliated with any church, I’m just a girl and her Bible so bear with me.

“In him was life; and the life was the light of men. And the light shineth in darkness” (John 1:4-5).
I believe He saved my life so that I could share my story and spread the light.

Leave a Reply

