Without further ado, I’d like to share my word for 2015!!

I know I’m a little late in selecting a word for the year; but this was a huge decision, not to be taken lightly. This word could make or break me and decide the outcome of the whole year. First I’d like to share a quote by author, Zora Neale Hurston. There are years that ask questions and years that answer.

Well I think this’ll be a year of great answers; answers in the form of action, but not necessarily the type of action most people think about. People who deal with brain injury on a daily basis can attest to this quote by French sculptor Auguste Rodine, Patience is also a form of action.

That being said, it’s time to move on to my word for the year 2015: GOAL

For my whole recovery people have been setting goals for me, more recently I’ve been helping to do just that, and for our team meeting last week I came up with five of them. My goals, things I want to accomplish. A few are academic, ones strictly therapeutic, another’s a combo, and the rest are in other aspects of my life. Getting them from my brain to paper has allowed me to take control, take ownership of them. Having my goals typed out and hanging up has made them more concrete in my mind.

Wishing you all the best in 2015!!

~D

What words have you guys chosen?

Leave a Reply

